Hobby Farm Life – Introduction to the Gardens

Standard

We have now lived in our first home for one year.  We absolutely LOVE home ownership and are thrilled to be out of our cramped apartment.  One of my favorite parts about owning a house is finally feeling like I can put down some roots (both literally and figuratively)!  Last summer we were pretty swamped with the unpacking process and didn’t get much done in the way of a garden.  THIS YEAR, however, is a completely different story!  It seems as though every time I go to the farmer’s market or our local Co-op I bring home another little plant *or two*.  I love Springtime!

I have to be very creative when it comes to finding places to put my plants.  We have a very small lot and two dogs – which equals not a lot of garden space.  Our house/yard contains 6 different garden patches *so far*.

THE WINDOW HERB GARDEN

11390316_413849422134945_4980560066085191772_n

Before it got warm enough to plant outside I was already itching to get planting.  I had seen this really neat idea on Pinterest for a hanging herb garden and I set out to convince Hub-Hub to let me construct this in our living room.  Then I started looking at the prices of curtain rods! This was going to be a major focal point for our living room and would interfere with a lot of the natural light and I just couldn’t justify spending $30 EACH for the curtain rods I wanted.  COMPROMISE: we took a long bench we ALREADY owned and put all our new little herbs pots on it along with our existing house plants. Voila!

THE JUNK GARDEN

11392815_413852312134656_4382479301794105123_n

I have a heard time getting rid of things that I believe can be upcycled into usable things.  When we bought our house it came with a few such items that the previous owner had neglected.  I used an old bench, tires, a pallet, an old fire pit, an aluminum cooking tray, and a plastic tub to plant all sorts of veggies.

The first weekend in May, while Hub-Hub was away for the weekend, I got to work turning a few of these discarded items into mini raised beds.  A few weeks later we got some edging and mulch to define the area and keep the weeds out.  Then last weekend I got a fence up to keep the deer and rabbits out.    In the junk garden I am growing carrots, green beans, summer squash, acorn squash, spaghetti squash, beets, celery, tomatoes, lettuce, kale, eggplant, sage, peppermint, and chives.

THE NOT-A-FLOWER BED

10606414_413851482134739_8368147213024465971_n

There used to be flowers in this bed.  But with the great southern exposure, I just needed the space for veggies.  I did move a few of the flowers to new homes.  I hope to get more flowers planted next year for the butterflies and bees but this year’s budget only called for veggies.  This bed is very protected from wind by the house so I planted broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, and corn.

THE BERRY PATCH

10422253_413852628801291_7506912557608641712_n

Let me tell you, this bed looks SO MUCH better now that we got it edged in and mulched this week.  The tullips bulbs we planted last year were beautiful this spring and I hope this lily flowers make an appearance soon.  This years addition to this bed has been two blueberry bushes and a raspberry bush!  I cannot WAIT for fresh fruit!

THE PIE BED

11407142_413852878801266_6541702035637729353_n

In this bed we planted strawberries and rhubarb – which, coincidentally, is my favorite pie to make! We’ll see if we get enough this year to make a pie.

DECK GARDENS

11406990_413854212134466_7208887286706831351_n 11390332_413851798801374_7223805137028548_n

Both my front and side decks are full of plants.  I figure if I keep my plants in pots off the ground and close to the house the deer will know to stay away… right?  On the deck I upcyled and old school desk (also left here by the previous owners) into a potted plant holder.  With the staggered levels all the plants can share in the sunshine.

I am absolutely IN LOVE with my gardens. 🙂  Additionally, here are some articles about how digging around in the soil is actually very good for your health!  I know I seem to do a lot better with my anxiety on days when I get out in the sunshine and dirt!

Antidepressant Microbes In Soil: How Dirt Makes You Happy 

It’s in the Dirt! Bacteria in soil may make us happier, smarter

Soil Bacteria Work In Similar Way To Antidepressants

2 responses »

  1. Very, very creative and nice, Elise! I can tell that you love it all and that’s what counts! Love the fact that you recycle to make it work for you! 🙂 That “art” has sort of been lost because most people like new stuff all the time, which is costly. Recycled things have a beauty all their own! 🙂 Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

