The Busy Women’s Guide to Saving the World

Standard

I’m very busy.  You are very busy.  We are all VERY busy.

Saving the world sounds like a pretty daunting task. The good news is it doesn’t have to be.  There are small, everyday changes that you can make to reduce waste and help the environment.  We all know how important it is to reduce, reuse, and recycle – but how consistent are we with making these things into positive habits?  The key, I’ve found, is making it easier for yourself.  When we remove the barriers that form our excuses, these small little changes can add up to big things and they become regular habits.

Recycling

Here is an awesome video that demonstrates the importance of recycling. 🙂

Now, let’s make it easier to do, shall we?

Our community just recently added curbside recycling to our regular garbage pick-up.  Whahoo! Though they always had a drop-off site in the middle of town, it can be pretty easy to talk yourself out of driving aaaaaaalllllll the wwwwwwwwaaaayyy over there.  Even so, we dropped off our recycling on a pretty regular basis, but it so much more convenient that they have a curb-side pick-up service!  To make it EVEN easier, I keep my big blue bins right out in the open.  I don’t care if they are not pretty – they sit in a hidden corner of my kitchen and I have easy access to them at all times.  They are not tucked away in a closet or stored in a garage.  Then on the first and third Wednesday of the month, I haul them out to the curb – easy-peasy. 🙂  The city even dropped off the three containers when I signed up – for free.  Having three separate buckets means that I can sort as I go. Seriously, can this BE ANY EASIER?!?

11774586_10207194929729736_1099820098_n

Composting

Composting is another great way to reduce your waste and recycle the nutrients for future use in your garden.  We got an Earth Machine composting bin from my in-laws.  It is so easy to use!  Just screw into the ground, dump in food scraps, and let the sun do its thing – so easy! Still why is it so hard to walk aaaalllllll the wwwwwwwwwwaaayyyyyy out the eeeeeeennnnnddddddd of the yard to compost? Too lazy, erm, busy! 😉

So I put two bins in my fridge – one for food scraps for the chickens and one for regular compost.  Keeping it in the fridge means it stays “fresh” so I don’t have to run outside EVERY time I cut up some fruit or make a salad.  I can let a bit of food pile up and then take it out at my leisure.  Bonus points – I even recycled old containers to make the buckets!  Maybe some day I will buy nice stainless steel buckets, but for now it is about establishing good habits. 11798442_10207194929849739_875270763_n

These are just two examples of ways to make it easier on yourself to reduce waste and recycle.  Now stop making excuses! What ways can you find to make it easier on yourself to do positive things to impact the environment? A little time, thought, and effort NOW, could equal BIG results over the LONG-TERM in the FUTURE.  I believe in you!

Thanks for visiting!

 

The Essentialist Movement is my personal journey towards health and happiness that I hope will inspire you too!

Would you like to get more from The Essentialist Movement?

“Like” me on Facebook – The Essentialist Movement

Follow me on Instagram – @theessetialistmovement

Send us an email – theessentialistmovement@gmail.com

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Busy Women’s Guide to Saving the World | The Essentialist Movement | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

