#swapitoutsunday – Eye Makeup Remover

Standard

 

13091623_10209273980664710_782821906_o

I’ve decided to start a new series called #swapitoutsunday (not my hashtag) where I will feature simple ways to replace less-than-great habits with positive new habits!  I, for one, typically embrace change and like to keep things interesting.  However, if I try to adopt too many things at one time, I end up getting frustrated that I am not able to keep up with all of the good habits I intended.  Others struggle with change and may need to take baby steps toward new ideas and habits.  Cue – #swapitoutsunday

I love coconut oil.  I have been using it for cooking and in my beauty regimen for some time now.  I am constantly finding out new things about coconut oil and ways it can apply to my life.  My most recent coconut oil discovery was that I can use it to replace my eye makeup remover!  *mind blown*  So, this week’s #swapitoutsunday is all about using coconut oil in place of eye makeup remover!

I have a jar of coconut oil in each bathroom so that I do not confuse it with the coconut oil used for cooking in my kitchen.  This also makes it readily available and easy to remember.  I have no excuse to use conventional eye makeup removers because the coconut oil is right there and just as easy to use!

To use: with clean hands get a small amount – about the size of a pea – of coconut oil on your fingers.  Rub the coconut oil on your eyelids and under your eyes.  Let it melt on your skin – shouldn’t take more than a few seconds, as your body heat should do the work.  Wipe away with a cotton ball. It is as simple as that!

But I would like to take this deeper.  I would like to explain why I believe coconut oil is a better choice than conventional eye makeup removers.  While my research is by no means exhaustive, I am working hard to back up my opinions with facts so we can all be well-informed.

Skin: Our Body’s First Line of Defense

Our skin acts as a barrier between us and the outside world – protecting us from harmful bacteria, chemicals, and irritations.  However, skin is not impermeable.  It does have the ability to absorb some of the things it comes in contact with. This does not mean that everything we come in contact with has a direct path to our blood stream. Whether or not our skin absorbs something it is exposed to depends on a number of different factors:

1. The length of exposure

The reason we wash our hands after using the bathroom and maintain a regular shower routine is to limit our exposure to harmful agents.  The longer you let bacteria, germs, or chemicals sit on your skin, the more likely they are to penetrate your skin’s protective layer.  The risk that you will touch your mouth, nose, or eyes also increases.  These organs may be more susceptible to permeation due to their thinner layers of skin, as in your eyelids, or their mucus membranes, as in your nose and mouth.  Germs and bacteria have an easier time getting to the blood stream through these ports.

2. The molecular size of the exposed element

Your skin is a waterproof covering  comprised of three layers: the epidermis, the dermis, and the subcutaneous tissues/fat.  The offending agent may penetrate the first layer, but it has to break the skin barrier in order to be absorbed by your bloodstream for it to have the potential for internal damage.  The size of the molecules has a lot to do with whether or not it can get past the barrier.

3. The solubility of the the exposed element

The other determining factor in the harmfulness of an exposure would be the solubility of the exposed element.  “The epidermal cells that form the skin’s outermost layers are tightly knit together, but allow a certain amount of pliability. The cells are almost entirely full of the tough protein keratin, which resists attack by many kinds of chemicals.  The natural secretion of sebum from the millions of sebaceous glads, each associated with a hair follicel, is slightly oily at body temperature and spreads easily.  It furnishes the skin with partially water-repellent and antibiotic qualities, inhibiting the growth of certain microorganisms, and prevents hairs from becoming too brittle.” (Source: The Human Body Book by Steve Parker)  This oil also protects things from entering our system that are not lupid or fat soluble.

What if something does get through?

Skin is only our first line of defense; it is hardly our last.  Our immune system, circulatory system, and digestive system are all constantly working together to keep our whole body clean and healthy.  Our body is designed to filter out toxins, bacteria, and germs and remove them from our body.

So, if our body is so great at getting rid of bad things, why are so you concerned with switching to healthier options?

Our modern life is filled with a hailstorm of germs, bacteria, and chemicals.  While our bodies are adept at filtering all of these out and keeping us healthy, things like stress and worry can diminish our bodies abilities to fight back.  My goal is to limit the amount of chemicals I put on my body.  Even though my skin will keep a majority of harmful things out of my body, I still find more value in providing it with supplemental products that help it do its job instead of making it work harder.  Furthermore, if I know that it is safe to ingest, I know that it will be safe to put on my skin. Coconut oil is one such supplemental product that has a multitude of health benefits for our bodies.

Here is an awesome excerpt on the benefits of coconut oil!

“Coconut oil is an excellent skin conditioner containing medium-chain triglycerides, naturally occurring fats which deeply penetrate, moisturize and acts as a protective barrier against environmental and free radical damage. The oil also provides sun protection by screening 20 percent of ultraviolet exposure.

Coconut oil is rich in anti-oxidants and bursting with the natural microbial and antibacterial agents caphrylic and capric acids. . Its ability to smooth the skin while infusing with anti-oxidants makes it a perfect anti-aging moisturizer. Moreover, it contains vitamin E, another antioxidant popular for hastening the recovery of skin abrasions, burns and other trauma. (http://www.naturalnews.com)”

Sounds pretty great to me! Which is why I’m making the change to using coconut oil in place of eye makeup remover in today’s #swapitoutsunday

Thanks for visiting!

 

The Essentialist Movement is my personal journey towards health and happiness that I hope will inspire you too!

Would you like to get more from The Essentialist Movement?

“Like” me on Facebook – The Essentialist Movement

Follow me on Instagram – @theessetialistmovement

Send us an email – theessentialistmovement@gmail.com

 

Sources: (And great reads in themselves!)

Leave a Reply

